Hello old friend, it’s been a while

I know, I know. It’s been a fair bit since my last post (sometime in August, I believe).

To be fair, I’ve been pretty busy reading and working on the curation of large mammals (also known as taking care of the husband, but let’s just keep that between you and me).

I’ve got a little over a month until my big trip to New Zealand and I’m pretty preoccupied with planning my reading for the trip.

I’d like to say I’m planning on rereading J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit, but to be honest, even at the best of times Tolkien can be a bit of a chore, as seminal as he is.

But I will be reading at least one Kiwi author on my trip, as I’ll be tackling Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters trilogy (Daughter of the Forest, Son of the Shadows, and Child of the Prophecy).

For my dose of steampunk, I’ve got Gail Carriger’s Prudence and Imprudence. And just because I’ve read the first book, I’ll be enjoying Daniel O’Malley’s Stiletto.

I’m also planning on reading Not Just Jane, Shelley DeWees’s treatment of unrecognized female voices in English literature, as well as Kameron Hurley’s Geek Feminist Manifesto.

Yes, that should do for two 14-hour flights and an extended vacation.

See you in January, my fellow bibliophiles!

lisasimpson

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

