Summer Readin’

Given that most major shows are on hiatus for the summer, I’ve spent a lot more time reading. And, going by the fact that favourites such as Agent Carter and The Muppets were recently cancelled, will probably continue this trend into next year.

Among the works I’ve picked up at some point this week are

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (J.K. Rowling)

Shirley (Charlotte Bronte)

Wolf Hall (Hilary Mantel)

The Explorers Guild: Volume One: A Passage to Shambhala (Kevin Costner, Jon Baird, Rick Ross)

Quite honestly, if I could clone multiple copies of myself solely for the purposes of expanding my reading potential I totally would, transcription errors be damned.

As with all summer-reading initiatives, I’m usually tempted to go the way of the beach read and gorge myself on the kind of fluff I would normally approach with, at the least, a fair degree of trepidation or a couple of glasses of wine.

(Oh, who am I kidding, AND is the word I want there. There’s always room for wine. It’s basically grownup Jello.)

However, my usual method involves balancing out less-strenuous reading with something a little more serious. It’s essentially a teeter-totter with fluff on one end and Literature on the other; ideally, you’re aiming for a happy balance.

My favourite option is to read a reputable book of Tudor history at the same time as Tudor-themed chick-lit and point all the factual inaccuracies (such as noticing that they have Katherine of Aragon in a French hood instead of a gable hood). I’m small and petty like that.

I feel it’s a good balance between the warring halves of my personality.

Which would be pretty cool to see animated, by the way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

